Month: April 2008

  • Oooooh sickness.  Well I have the flu.  All the horrid symptoms are present.  -_- meh.  I have soooo much work to do.  It’s… it’s not cool lol.  Lots of essays… LOTS of studying.  I probably won’t be able to study adequately.  All but one of my finals are on Monday.  The other is Tuesday… which is better i suppose.  Now I can go home pretty soon.  Maybe even take two days to go back to get my stuff lol.  But then summer!  Oh goodness.  Summer sounds so so so so so incredible right now.  BIKING!  Aaaah my therapy.  I still need to contact Applebees.  Meh.  And FAFSA.  And Dawn at Wells Fargo.  And Dan for an appointment.  I’ve got an appointment with Rasul (IMP sponsor) tomorrow.  Huge portfolio project along with three hw assignments due at 4:00pm tomorrow.  Huge research essay due Friday at 10:00am.  …haven’t done either one!  Haven’t even begun studying for my finals… and I”m way behind in philosophy and slightly behind in abnormal psych.  And I’m so tired… freezing one minute, burning up the next… feel like shit.. aches and pains all over… sigh.  I just want to curl up in my bed and watch movies with gatorade and nap.  Meh.  Well okay, how incredibly sick could I get within the next… week?  If I just drink energy drinks to keep me going, load myself with cold medicine (although I have to be careful with that mixing cold medicine stuff)… and stay up to work?  Would that even help?  I don’t know.  I know that yesterday, I was literally… exhausted.  I mean really.  I’ve only felt that way a few times in my life.  I could barely move my body and I couldn’t think clearly… dizzy.. .it was horrible.  So I slept instead of doing hw.  THEN i woke up with that flu crap.  I felt like I had something coming on for the past few days.. but the major symptoms came on after I woke up.  Bleh.  Now I’m talking to Brandon and being there as a friend for him, burning up again, not doing hw, and getting a really bad headache.  Logan hasn’t called me back and I’m worried about him.  I mean he has always called me back before.  This Lori breakup has him really down and I wish he’d let someone be there for him.  Sigh.  Damn finals week.  HA dead week my ass.  I’m more busy this week than I have been in the past month.  All these damn essays and projects!  And they’re not even for the final!!!  -_-

    Meh.

  • Oooh I am tired.  I should be working on hw right now.. ah no ambition.  I read all of my psych hw yesterday and am basically done with my french presentation work.  Probably should write that essay and read for philosophy… meeeeeh. 

    I can’t wait til summer.  I reeeally need some alone time on my bike.  That sounds so nice… I’ll get to the point.  As for Tom, I keep going back and forth on my decision… but I’m gradually getting over him more each day.  Give it another week and I’ll be completely indifferent.  Almost to that point now… So I don’t really care.  He doesn’t want to contact me or let me know about his surgery?  Whatever dude.  lol… just another weirdo.  Whyyyyy do I keep dating weirdos…?!  lol.  Ah hopefully I’ll find a good ‘un soon enough.  Keep on dating…

    On a brighter note, I revised my indiv. major!  Instead of international leadership, I’m calling it cross-cultural leadership.  The tweaking is getting less drastic each time I revise it.  I’m not sure if this will be my final draft, but it’s a hell of a lot better than the last one, at least for me.  I don’t have to stay 4.5 years!  Just 4!!!  YAY!  Although now I need to combine my internship and overseas study… sooo I need to have an overseas internship.  I’m sure SOMEWHERE in the whole country of France I will be able to do SOMETHING.  I’d like to get that CIA internship… I’ll still apply to that and the Aspen Institute one. 

    Tonight I’m going to watch Sweeney Todd with Dustin, Sandra, and Andrew.  I’m going to miss them over the summer…   Sandra and I will be the only one’s here next year in Bloomington.  Meh!  Our boys are moving on us!  We will just set a fetter to their ankles. 

    Hmm I should probably get a shower… clean my room… and start reading philosophy or something.  I REALLY should write that essay.  Or at least… rent that book.  Yep I should.  … yeeeep.  Should get on that.  Goooing to do it.  Here I go…  I think I want to buy DDR for wii.  I keep spending my money but whatever I want it.  … that’s not a perfect representation of the id or anything.  It looks fun. 

    I get to register for classes in the morning!   Possibly at midnight.  I am excited.  I am taking (assuming all goes well):

    MATH M118 Finite Mathematics 3
    FRIT F250 Secondary French II: Language and Culture 3
    HPER R282 Diversity Leadership (2nd 8 weeks) 3
    PSY P211 Methods of Experimental Psychology 3
    MIL G201 Innovative Tactical Leadership 2
    PSY P199 Planning Your Psychology Career 1
    HPER R122 Wilderness Living Skills (1st 8 weeks) 1

    So a total of 16 credits for seven classes.  Pretty crazy. 

    Anyway, Ima go.  Shower… waffle?!?!?!… hw…. waffle?!??!?!… clean stuff… laundry… (WAFFFLE!)  etc.

    Here I go again on my own
    Going down the only road I’ve ever known
    Life a drifter I was born to walk alone
    I’ve made up my mind
    I ain’t wasting no more time
    Here I go again

  • It’s that ache-in-the-heart feeling that you’re missing something and things
    just aren’t as interesting or fun as they could be because something
    just isn’t right.

    I’m not tired at all, so I thought I might as well write something.  ‘Tis 2:50am.  Just got back from a date with Andrew, which was overall pretty decent.  Nothing spectacular/ nothing horrible.  Decent.  I suppose I would have been more… moved if I were over Tom.  It’s so silly how I still like him or.. miss him or.. SOMETHING him.  I mean really I could not find a single flaw.. no… alarms/red flags… nothing was a turn-off.  I mean okay… we didn’t have the chemistry but my God we didn’t even give it a chance.  We went too quickly we … did physical things too soon,we hung out everyday… it was just overall a bad start.  I really think if we give it some time away from each other and start again later then.. it might really work.  I just hope he’s up for the idea.  I still like him.  I’m not going to stop liking him because there’s no reason to!  I mean okay tonight with Andrew was okay like I said but… he’s interested in math and numbers and economics and likes rap and techno and is so much older and didn’t graduate college… he’s a smart guy, has good taste in a few things, a gentleman… yadda yadda.  Decent.  A great catch for the right girl.  Is that how Tom felt about me?  …   Probably.  Maybe.  I don’t know… What the hell else does he want?!  Okay I wasn’t myself around him really.  I was uncomfortable a lot of the time.  But man… compared to how much we have in common.  Like… everything!!  His love for music is a bit extreme for my taste but I just.. didn’t understand it yet.  I could learn to love it more I mean my God I’ve played the flute since I was in sixth grade, was in band for seven years, orchestra, backup band, choir before that… I have fun singing… I mean if I had an exceptional talent in it, of course I would probably be majoring in it.  I just.. didn’t and… I honestly started hating the tradition of it… the practicing… the damn etiquette of concerts… meh.  I could not live that life.  But it’s definitely not a turn-off by any means.  It’s not a turn-on.. yet.  It’s something I want to understand more.  And I still feel bad for not going to his recital but he didn’t invite me.  And like Sandra said, if he cared if I were there or wanted me there… he would have said something.  So screw that.  You know if anything, at least I’m completely over Brandon.  I mean… man… I’ve held onto that itsy bitsy tiiiiny scrap of … thought/hope/dream whatever you want to call it that we might still have “something there” for so damn long.  I did not consciously pine away for him or any crap like that, but there was something there.  Deep, deep, deeeep down.  And now.. *blaring trumpets* it’s completely gone!  And replaced with a burning desire to get back with Tom… weeeee lol.  Meh.  I think about him every. single. day.  I don’t even realize how much time has passed.  A month?  Has it seriously been a month?  I think so… Wow.  That is a long time.  I haven’t seen him in a month.  Talked to him on the phone once about small-talk bullshit…. and fleeting conversation through facebook wall posts.  Wow.  I’ve seen Kris and Nathaneal out and about campus… not Tom… sigh.  I really miss him!!!!  Not like… like the typical mushy-gushy kind of miss crap.  Just.. that small ache in the chest that’s always there, you know?  It’s that ache-in-the-heart feeling that you’re missing something and things just aren’t as interesting or fun as they could be because something just isn’t right.  I even have these… completely ridiculous ideas that… oh… maybe I’ll see him today when I’m out running!  I’ll just.. head toward the music department!  And you know, it’s not like I set out to run toward the music department.  I just always seem to end up over there and once I am, I have that dumb thought that I might see him.  Or here’s the craziest one, you ready?  Okay… so one day he scared the shit out of me by hiding behind my door because I left it open to go to the bathroom.  Well I always leave it open when I leave my room if I’m still in the building.  Sometimes when I leave, I think about that day and wonder what I would do if he were there when I walked in.  Of course I don’t actually think he’s there; it’s more just a hypothetical thought.  Meh.  But what if I did see him in public somewhere?  What would I say?  Hi… how are you.. what have you been up to… nice weather… yadda yadda small talk bullshit.  Politeness.  And he would do the same.  Sigh…. I just want to run up to him and hug him and tell him I’ve missed him and I am not as happy as I was with him even with… with Blade Runner, one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen.. and even with my looking like shit with greasy bangs, glasses, no makeup, walking around his dirty house, completely uncomfortable and self-conscious, especially among his housemates…. and even with his silly overpoliteness and my feelings of having to be “professional” or whatever around him.  I !!!!  ME!!! I me I am the one who needed to loosen up.  Meh.  I really.. really truly 100% think we should .. we deserve another chance.  We know what to expect/do now… and I’ll just be myself more so from the beginning.. the jokes… whatever and see where it leads.  I just… won’t act “professional” even if I feel the need to be.  I miss him.  I facebook messaged him, even though I said I was going to wait for him to contact me.  I don’t care I just want to talk to him.  All I said was “… *cautious poke*…”  I suppose I’ll see what he has to say.  He’s probably pissed I didn’t go to his recital and I don’t blame him but… still man.  Invite me next time dude.  I suppose that’s not a good enough excuse or whatever but… it’s awkward and we’ll just see how it goes.  I would love to tell him these things but I think it’s only going to turn him off more.  I mean he never had feelings toward me to begin with.. so he says… so… I don’t know.  Granted, I was so not into him in the beginning… I still liked Kyle.  I even talked to Kai about that.  BUT I figured I should go for the nice guy for once instead of the hot bad boy type.  And I was really happy with my decision… thing is he was almost too nice/polite.  It’s like… is that it?  Just… polite?  I can’t tell the difference from how he acts around me to any other person he just meets.  Maybe that was just because he wasn’t into me.  Well how could he not be into me?!  Every guy I date is into me!!  And we were so much alike… it’s like he’d have to not be into himself in a way.  I mean really we even seemed to have the same thought processes.  It was so…comforting.  Gah.  I keep thinking I did something wrong… but therapist shelbi says “ooh oh no no do not blame yourself…”  and then I can just hear Tom’s reply to my asking if I did something wrong.   Of course he would say no.. in that sweet trying-to-not-let-you-down demeanor and say he just doesn’t have those feelings and maybe he isn’t capable of having those feelings.  Sigh.  I don’t think he’s as messed up as we decided he was.  I think we were both overanalyzing his indifference and turning it into something he needs therapy for… I mean come on.  He’s fine.  He’s just… We just should have gone about his slower.  I wasn’t expecting to seriously date him until the summer.  … two weeks later that’s what we call each other.  Four days later we break up.  YEP.  God… I mean we could still be having fun right now… taking it easy… getting to know each other… going on dates…, hanging out as friends… I WANT THAT!!!!  Doesn’t he?  Does any part of him want that?  We could kiss!  We could hug, kiss… cuddle… all of that, just nothing more.  Nothing anymore serious.  We rushed into things and screwed it all up.  I wonder if he would be up for that.  Oh sigh.  I hope he would be.  I’m so afraid he’s going to just say the same thing in the trying-to-not-let-you-down voice.  I just hope he wants that, too.  I want him back… and I’m going to get him back, damnit.  I ALWAYS accomplish what I set out to do.  Relationships, academics, sports, everything.  Overall, I honestly rarely fail.  (unless it’s math.. but I hate math and don’t care)  Ima do it.

    “There is this quality, in things, of the right way seeming wrong at first.”
      -John Updike

    “Those who believe that they are exclusively in the right are generally those who achieve something.”
    -Aldous Huxley

    “A life without hope and dreams is a life not fully lived.”  – ‘Katherine Chancellor’ on “The Young and the Restless”

    “If you think you can win, you can win. Faith is necessary to victory.”
    -William Hazlitt

    “I dread the events of the future, not in themselves, but in their results.”
    - Edgar Allan Poe:  “The Fall of the House of Usher”

    “Time is what prevents everything from happening at once.” – John Archibald Wheeler

    “Damn the torpedoes! Full speed ahead.” – David Farragut

    “Le coeur a ses raisons que le raison ne connait pas.” – Pascal

    “Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity, or registering wrongs.” – Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre

  • Well I have about 10 minutes or so before I have to go to class, so I might as well write something. 
    Yesterday was great!  Didn’t get much hw done… but I took my psych test.  It was em… interesting.  My worst grade in the class by far… thanks to forgetting the test is today… BUT that’s okay at least now I don’t have to spend time …studying…for… it… .. :)   Always look on the bright side.  Sandra and I hung out a lot yesterday, which was great!!!!  She is definitely one of my best friends.  Brit of course will always remain top hauncho, but ya know.  All the running and walking yesterday kind of screwed up my bad knee… so I’m wearing my brace for a while.  Meh.  It is crackling and popping and hurting… damn tennis.  At least the brace helps.  Going to the mall today to pick up a damn sensor wii bar for Dion… I DON’T think I should have to pay for the whole thing, but whatever I just want it done and overwith.  Got to write a mini essay tonight… easy stuff… and read lots and lots and lots.  … and lots and lots… and lots.  I’m studying with Sandra and Phillip tonight though so that should keep me motivated.  I need to get some notes for international studies… we’ll see how that goes.  Meh lots of hw.  It’s little 500 week though!!  WOO!  Lots of bikers everywhere man.  I am hanging out with Kai to see DMX and party… got a date-like thing Saturday evening with Andrew… (really nice guy as far as I can tell… Dustin approves!!  haha)  aaand a girl’s day out with Sandra and Darla at some point… possibly hang out with Butthead if he isn’t too much of a butthead… I think that’s about it.  It should be fun!!!!  Weee!!  :)   Ah I should go to international studies discussion.  God I hate that class.  Just a few more weeks and I’m home free baby!  As for the Tom stuff… eeh.  I just got to thinking that the dude didn’t even invite me to come to the recital.. didn’t tell me when it was… he mentioned it on my wall but didn’t say a word about my coming.  I have a feeling he couldn’t less care one way or the other.  And he never asks me to do anything… always turns me down when I suggest something… seems to be getting along perfectly fine without me in his life whatsoever… doesn’t even give me an update about his surgery even though I asked him to let me know if he changed the date or something.  Maybe he didn’t change the date.  BUT screw it, screw him; I’m not worrying about it anymore.  Not feeling guilty.  I’m through it all and .. that’s that.  Now for class.  … meeeeeh.

  • Anyway I can’t believe it has been almost a year since I used this last.  Xanga popularity certainly disappeared… although yes, I do prefer facebook… for other reasons.  Mainly just a quick way to keep in touch with friends… whereas this can be personal.  And since it has lost popularity, nobody will read it!!!  Weeee!!!  Secrets!!!  Mmm.. lol.  Not too many of them.  Alright I have to do hw anyway.

    I used to write “quote of the day” on every entry.  Hmmm… quote…
    (cheating!  copied from facebook)

    “Trouble is part of your life, and if you don’t share it, you don’t give the person who loves you a chance to love you enough.”  – Dinah Shore

    That seems appropriate for a xanga entry.

  • Woooow!!!  I remember xanga!!  …!!!  Yeah so after spending an hour taking away all of my fancy customizations, I can now use it again!  Wee online diary.  I’ll just paste what I pasted into the facebook notes thing yesterday…

    8:17pm Monday, Apr 7

    Define selfishness.
    How cruel, how heartless… how self-absorbed. How can I feel anything
    but what I want to feel… to see… to touch. My mind has been lost
    for so long and here I sit.. typing away… mindless words just running
    together. I’m still lost. At least now I’ve realized… that I have
    been selfish. I only feel sympathy for myself. I only feel love for
    myself. Everything else is false… fake.. persona… I’ve even tricked
    myself into believing I feel things for others. And yet, why am I sad?
    Why do I continuously search for something that’s missing… Am I sad
    for myself — yet another declaration of selfishness? Am I writing this
    for some… reaction? I don’t know… I know I need to write. And I
    don’t care who reads it if anyone.

    I would rather be alone and be absorbed into my own little world with
    nobody else to question me or judge me or even like me. This way I am
    my own world. I am the world I know. I am the world. Everything else is
    just a pawn in my life… to manipulate and use for self-assurance
    whenever I need it. Am I really this selfish? I don’t want to be
    selfish… I think. I know I care for some.. truly I would be upset if
    something were to happen to them. But is this not human nature? Is that
    something worthy of contributing to myself as if I have feeling for
    others outside what is innate to a human being? I think not.

    I only help because… well why? Why is it that I consider devoting my
    entire career to helping others someday? The objectivity in the way a
    psychologist is to help the patient is familiar to me. I can help
    without feeling. I enjoy helping, really. I truly do enjoy it… yet I
    have a difficult time actually being empathetic or even sympathetic. Do
    most people have that same problem? Does everyone? Does anyone truly
    help another just for the purpose of helping them? Well, I suppose I
    could say I do… because that is objective. Maybe I’ve even somewhat
    conditioned myself to be indifferent since I’ve had the idea of
    becoming a psychologist… it’s possible. Maybe not… I don’t know.

    I don’t think I help others to feel better about myself… because I am
    simply indifferent. All around… I am indifferent. I am indifferent to
    a lot of things… and I’m becoming indifferent to “love” or whatever
    you could call it. Perhaps I have been indifferent to it longer than I
    realize… Love not just in bf/gf relationships, but friendships too.
    Sure sure, I have a few friends who I truly love… that mushy-gushy
    would-do-anything-for kind of love. Very few. And most of those friends
    I’ve had a long time… so I suppose it comes naturally in a way. Maybe
    that’s normal… maybe I shouldn’t question why I only feel that way
    toward a very few choice people.

    Maybe I am just sad… my spirit is broken. I miss summer, I am sick of
    hw, I recently ended a short relationship, though I grew highly
    attached, and I’ve lost interest for dating for who knows how long.
    That isn’t such a bad thing… you’d think I could “concentrate more on
    my studies” or something instead. But no… I don’t have the desire to
    do that either. That’s normal though; a lot of people are incredibly
    sick of school work at this point.

    But that’s beside the point… I think all this may stem from the
    simple fact that I miss a person inside my heart… and my heart is
    breaking for that… yet… I’m so selfish because I do absolutely
    nothing for that person. The relationship is completely one-sided –
    that being the other person always doing things for me. And you know,
    that’s what it is like for a lot of my relationships. Even with my
    friends, I usually have to make myself chill out to let the other
    person make a decision… or stop myself from manipulating a situation
    for my benefit… or shut myself up to let the other person talk about
    his/her day instead of thinking mine is so incredibly interesting to
    anyone and everyone. And then, I don’t really care what they have to
    say most of the time; I just make myself believe I do. Then, I can have
    my turn again to talk, which is always more interesting anyway right?!
    That is selfish. That’s sad….

    How can I change? Or is that normal? Is that what most people think if
    they take time to think about it? I know I am constantly thinking and
    analyzing everything about myself and others… maybe I’ve come to this
    conclusion because I’m overanalyzing… but I don’t think so. I think I
    am selfish… I know I am. Granted, everyone is. But I think I am more
    so… much more so.


    And the one thing I want/wanted most is the one thing I think I may
    have pushed away with my selfishness. I could have gone… I could have
    been there yesterday. But no. I didn’t even take just a few SECONDS to
    see what time the performance was. No excuses. No fucking excuses. I
    just didn’t think about it… well no, that’s not right either. I DID
    think about it! I’m always thinking about that…whole…short-lived
    … thing. I miss it so much I break down in tears so often and I hate weakness. I hate crying; crying is weakness.

    And I have to be strong for a good girl friend of mine… I have to be
    strong for her and I love her dearly, truly I do. But I’m a fraud….
    she is so strong in the problems she is having and here I am balling
    and crying over some… what? Week long relationship? And I don’t even
    go to the recital? I really wanted to go to it! …. so I thought! What
    the hell is wrong with me… What. Is. My. Problem. And I can’t
    concentrate on anything… I have zero ambition to do anything, not
    just hw. I didn’t even really have fun salsa dancing. It’s on my mind
    all the fucking time and I just… …….I don’t know. I don’t know if
    I wanted freed of this.. burden or if… oh fuck. Who cares. Blabbing
    away again…

    I don’t even know what I’m talking about. I can’t analyze this feeling
    I’m having. I can’t… define it. Maybe I am selfish, but I feel a
    connection that I shouldn’t be having. For all the guys I have dated…
    for how EASY it is to get them to fall for me (truly effortless)…. is
    it the chase? It is the fact that I can’t have it that I want it so
    much? Or is it that old saying that you don’t know what you had til
    it’s gone… but I didn’t even have it!!! Never had it to begin with. I
    was …. I wasn’t lied to, but I was given false hope by no fault of
    anyone. That hurt… it hurt a lot… but is that the entire cause of
    all of this pain? Just the fact I was turned down? No… it’s not… I
    know I am much stronger than that. Much. So what is it… and why don’t
    I actually put some fucking effort into it or… or why didn’t I THINK
    to fucking check the time on the website? Agh. I don’t understand
    myself.

    I need a psychologist; I can’t keep pretending to be one for myself.
    ….. sigh. I don’t know. I know this hurts… and it’s affecting my
    daily life… and I have no right to be feeling this way. I’m selfish
    and I don’t have a right to be feeling sorry for myself…ooh!! Yet
    more selfishness. Fuck it. I’m confused… hurt… and I don’t even
    know why exactly I’m hurting. I mean yadda yadda it’s not some
    depressive disorder or something like that. I know… there’s a
    reason… that it has to do with that relationship….

    But if I still want it, then why don’t I make an effort? If I still
    want it, then why don’t I even THINK to make an effort? If I don’t want
    it, then why do I think about it constantly? If I don’t want it, then
    why can’t I concentrate and why am I so damn sad? Answer those and I’d
    be eternally grateful. Good luck. You don’t even have the facts… most
    of you don’t even know what I’m talking about… buuut that’s okay. I’m
    mainly venting… grasping to some hope that I would have figured
    things out by the time I finish typing. Ah. At least I got it off my
    chest. Not that I’ve solved anything…. but it is a temporary relief.
    Yep…

    I may acted toward him with indifference… I didn’t reciprocate his
    kindness.. I didn’t reciprocate anything really. I took advantage, I
    may have even manipulated but maybe not… I was selfish. I acted in
    indifference, but I didn’t feel indifference… it was quite the
    opposite. Quite the opposite. I was scared.. or inexperienced… or
    maybe both. I screwed it all up.. and here I am blabbing about
    something that never existed except in my own confused mind. I know I
    need to take some time to… learn how to be in a relationship, to
    learn how to not be so selfish in any kind of relationship. I lost…
    maybe… that wish on a star that I’ve made since I can remember. Seems
    to fit the criteria pretty well. I have to accept that and move on
    and… forget it all. God I’m an idiot. Why can’t I just let it go?
    Sigh. Perhaps I’m just lonely. I am lonely… really lonely. Lonely for
    a particular person? I don’t know maybe not. Maybe just lonely
    in…general? Sigh. Maybe not. … That probably wouldn’t make much
    sense since I have many friends. I guess. Lonely for a relationship. ..
    for the one I lost? That would be my most educated guess, BUT maybe
    not. I’m not a psychologist I don’t fucking know. Bleh. I’ll stop
    blabbing. Hw time anyway. … Wee! …Yaay hw. … hw hw hw…!!! …..
    ..

    …But you know… then again… … I wasn’t even invited. … Hm. Yeah… … .